[Outfit Post] with White Body Suit + Black Cropped Shrug + Cobalt Blue Houndstooth Skirt…A Preppy Back-to-School Look

As promised, I am focusing on contributing more outfit posts this month for fall fashion inspiration and this is also the direction I would like my blog to be going (hope everyone is as excited about that as I am)!

It is truly one of my greatest passions in life to inspire people with my personal style and find that there is really something to be learned through each and every outfit post I share along with unique style twists…since that is what fashion is all about!

About This Outfit:

[The Outfit]:  I am wearing a few pieces to create this look.  First, I am wearing a white bodysuit from Guess.

The black cropped shrug is from Forever 21.  I wear this very frequently.

The black belt which has been featured in a previous outfit post (and that I also wear pretty often) is from Guess.

The amazing cobalt blue and black houndstooth print skirt is initially from Urban Outfitters by a brand called, “Lux.”  Although I picked this up from a consignment store last year, this is actually the FIRST time I’m wearing the skirt (hard to believe I know, but I’m pretty sure I bought this end of the season, hence why I couldn’t really utilize it at the time).

The shoes which you unfortunately cannot get a good look at because it blends with the black tights (from Express) are BCBG.  I will wear these in another post so you can see how great the style is of these shoes!

[Where to wear this outfit]:  This was a daytime outfit that I wore last week.  Although I’m no longer a student, I just think this looks like a school outfit.  It has a preppy feel with a stylish sophistication.

[Stylish Notes]:

–  If you haven’t noticed, I really focus on impeccable fit with my clothing section.  I like to accentuate the natural curves of my body with form-fitting clothes.  I personally do not like my clothing to hang too loosely on the body as it would not be doing anything to enhance my figure.

 – This mini skirt is pretty short, so there is NO WAY I would be wearing this without tights.  The black tights coordinate perfectly with the cropped black shrug and bring unison to the entire outfit.

–  This print is so classy yet modern all at the same time.  Although wearing prints can be tricky, I think every good wardrobe should include some prints into the mix.  It captures your personal taste and style aesthetic.

Anytime we are dealing with prints, I always want to emphasize the importance of paying attention to the SCALE of the print (size of the print design).  It is crucial that you not only pick a print that you are visually attracted to, but the scale needs to be balanced with the frame of your body.

[For more info on print selection, please check out this older post I wrote regarding the subject.  It covers it in greater detail].

A closer look at the final look I put together. Sharp and chic.

Absolutely LOVE this print. The cobalt blue/black combo gives this classic print a modern twist.

I don't know why, but I like this photo. It also captures my semi-messy hair. This is my hair in its most natural state (in process of air-drying). I don't style my hair at all (other than throwing a headband if you call that styling). I just let it do its thing and kind of like the outcome although it's out of place. Imperfections like these can be stylish, no?

[Thanks for viewing!  Thoughts?]

Leave a comment